Start a new topic

About Project Templates

I am looking to update the reference document on Project Templates as it is outdated.


However, I'm not sure I understand all PT subtleties.


Igor, would you consider creating an official article on this subject?


In the meantime, here are some questions:


- If understand correctly, the current PT is being updated automatically. So if I am happy with the current layout/preferences, etc. I need to save a project template twice (two separate files). One to keep for future reference, in case I need to load the template. And another one to keep using, and which will inevitably be updated with the current usage. Is that correct?


- Does it make a difference (in terms of what is saved in the PT) if one saves a PT:

  • After closing the project (Project > Close project) and
  • After exiting the program (Project > Exit)?
I und
- Are joined/docked tabs being systematically stored? When I join two resources, I don't seem to get them joined again on a consistent fashion if I keep using the same PT. Is there something I need to do to ensure this?

- Binding of project templates to external projects. Is there a difference in PTs for native projects and PTs for external projects? Should one use different PTs for each of these project types? Could usiing the same PT for both types result in inconsistencies?

Thanks.

@Igor,


> Both commands set the new Dashboard. The New Dashboard command also deselects any translation memories, glossaries and Total Recall tables while "Remove project template" keeps them selected in the panels for the new Dashboard.


In my installation, New Dashboard does not deselect anything. If this can't be reproduced or reported by others, it's ok, not so crucial.


Additionally "Remove project template" displays a "Dashboard" current project template name. I guess this is superfluous.


@Hans


"Stage" added, thanks. For the location of the PT indicator… I changed the text to "The currently used project template is indicated in the upper section of the Dashboard". You can't miss it!

 

Jean,


>The current project template is indicated in the upper-left section of the Dashboard, just above the Total Recall column.


On my Mac, the PT indicator is positioned above the middle column of the Dashboard:


image



One more comment: Perhaps you want to change:


Different workflow/layout: to: Different workflow/layout/stage of the translation process:

> I just tried it and it does not deselect any resources.


It should deselect TMs, glossaries and Total Recall tables.

> What is the difference between New Dashboard and "Remove current template"?


Both commands set the new Dashboard. The New Dashboard command also deselects any translation memories, glossaries and Total Recall tables while "Remove project template" keeps them selected in the panels for the new Dashboard. 

 I have uploaded the revised Project Templates reference document.


It feels like a complete rewrite, almost everything had changed!


Before I announce this in ProZ, I would a appreciate if you could have a look at the file and comment on it.


In particular, is there any inaccurate information? Is there anything I should add or remove from the list of what's stored in a project template?


Any other use cases that might be inspiring?


Thanks!



Hi Igor, thank you for this explanation.


I would just have an additional question.


What is the difference between New Dashboard and "Remove current template"? Both seem to remove the current template. However, the latter produce shows a project template (just above the Total Recall column on the Dashboard) called "Dashboard" (I have never saved such a PT name).


I am asking to make sure I offer accurate information in the updated reference document.

The New Dashboard command just removes the current project template. After that, you can work either without any project templates, or treat it as the entry point to create a new project template from the modified Dashboard state.

After saving a PT, instead of creating/saving a second PT on which CafeTran will remember any changes, is the recommended method to use "New Dashboard"?


The changelog reads "New Dashboard command in the Dashboard menu. It deselects the resources in the Dashboard." I just tried it and it does not deselect any resources. However, the name of the PT is removed, indicating that the changes are not saved there.


Otherwise, what is the prupose of New Dashboard?

Thank you, Hans. That was helpful.

> Binding of project templates to external projects. Is there a difference in PTs for native projects and PTs for external projects // Nope. Note that I use one PT per client. Sometimes a client doesn’t send a Studio package but a tiny docx. Then I use the same PT but change the file format quickly.
> Are joined/docked tabs being systematically stored? When I join two resources, I don't seem to get them joined again on a consistent fashion if I keep using the same PT. Is there something I need to do to ensure this? // I have no problems with this. Even when project resources aren’t selected (available) after launching CTE, they will be joined correctly, once they are added. Background: I have one master PT that I clone for new clients. Once I add client-specific glossaries, they are joined automatically.
> So if I am happy with the current layout/preferences, etc. I need to save a project template twice (two separate files). // That is correct.
Login to post a comment