Start a new topic

Start button [Native project]

Hello,


I'd like to ask what is the point of the Start button when launching a new native project?


If at all possible, would it make sense to skip it and load directly the full translation interface, as is the case when opening already created/recent projects or external projects?


I feel this represents one more step, which is unnecessary/adds complexity (plus it requires that segment buttons are displayed, which is not always the case.).


Jean


> the Start button

We can do away with it.  It's been there for the sake of the Knowledge Base articles. They need to be refreshed anyway since the new version has been released.


> Closing button

The exit confirmation step can be skipped when clicking the window's closing icon. It is highly unlikely to click it by accident.


Those improvements should appear in the next update.  


1 person likes this

I agree.

Me too. Perhaps it's a relict from earlier versions, when computers weren't that powerful as nowadays.

Frankly, I find that also the need to confirm CTE closing after telling it to close is a bit annoying. Is it really needed? If anything has to be saved, can't CTE do that automatically upon closing itself?

IIRC, it was once introduced as a safety check for pressing the keyboard shortcut Ctrl+Q (not sure if this keyboard shortcut is still active).

I’m using multiple keyboard layouts (English, French and Greek), and Ctrl+A is inverted with Ctrl+Q in French.


I’ve been thankful that this confirmation is there as a safety net quite a few times.


I also use three different keyboard layouts, but always close CTE by clicking on the window's closing button. But, how many other CAT tools have this "feature"? I mean, can't CTE be more clever by saving automatically what has to be saved upon manual closing, being it intended or accidental? (By the way, what has to be saved exactly? Please pardon my ignorance if thew answer is obvious.)

When I work in a browser, I even pin the tab to avoid closing it. I don't know about other tools.But I understand it can be annoying.


From the top of my head:

- Project, Memories and Glossaries are auto-saved every X segments/entries (defined in Preferences>Workflow)

- If I reopen a project, I need to at least rearrange tabs.

- When working on external projects, some information such as manually disabled auto-propagation is not remembered. 

 - Project, Memories and Glossaries are auto-saved every X segments/entries

Since the beginning I wondered why this setting is necessary, that is, what in particular might suggest the user not to have translation segments auto-saved immediately one after the other.


- If I reopen a project, I need to at least rearrange tabs.

Can we consider this an area for improvement?


- When working on external projects, some information such as manually disabled auto-propagation is not remembered.

Ditto.







The following tips can reduce the background processing and prolong the time of work on the battery:

[…]

Increase automatic background saving intervals for Project segments, Memories and Glossaries in Edit > Preferences > Workflow > Autosave project/memory/glossary fields.

Source: https://cafetran.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/6000113091-running-cafetran-in-the-battery-mode


I agree for the areas of improvement.


Login to post a comment