Start a new topic

Problem with CafeTran code while searching Tibetan script

Hi, I am a Tibetan-English translator and am currently doing a review of CAT platforms. I just tested your latest version of CafeTran and I am seeing a problem that is common across CAT platforms in regard to how it your code is reading the Tibetan script:

Let me explain first that in the Tibetan script there are no spaces between words instead there are little dots called tseks, e.g., ཐམས་ཅད་མཁྱེན་ཅིང་ཀུན་གཟིགས།  is a phrase with seven words and dot between each word. CafeTran is recognizing each of these dots as a character rather than a word delimiter, thereby registering phrases as single words and as a result getting very poor leverage for both fuzzy matching and concordance search.

I was able to confirm this by doing a simple test: in the document called "Test C Tibetan Script" I created a TM for a simple 8 lines of verse (creating one segment for verse) then I ran this against a new source text where I altered a word or two on each line so that we would expect a fuzzy match for each line, though I left one line 100% as a control.

Then I ran the exact same test in another document called "Test C Tibetan Romanized Transliteration". The exacts same TM and source except all the Tibetan was converted into the Wylie Roman transliteration, where all of the punctuation dots are replaced by spaces, the example phrase from above would thus be rendered "thams cad mkhyen cing kun gzigs/".

The results confirm the problem as the transliterated document found fuzzy matches as one would expect, but the Tibetan-Unicode document failed to find fuzzy matches with the corresponding Tibetan-Unicode .tmx file, except in the one case where it was a 100% match.