Start a new topic

Machine Translation: yes or no?

My statement of today is:

Blindly depending on MT engines is unacceptable, but not using valuable suggestions of several available MT engines isn't acceptable either.

Or: As a professional translator one has to take suggestions offered by MT system into account, in order to improve quality of translations.

Am I opening a can of worms with this statement?

They'll be soon out of business, Mario. There will soon be software that compares a translation with the automatically generated MT translations of the source text. (Actually this is already possible with CafeTran Espresso 2019.)

'Translators' (frauds) who score a match higher than say 30 %, will be placed on the black list.

Allow me to doubt that, please. I have been hearing this since many years now, and such translators are still around. Of course I speak based on my experience in Japan, where the bulk of my revenue comes from. I already said somewhere else: when translation companies and end users alike rely upon Google Translate to check my translations, I cannot expect they are very demanding in terms of translation quality. 

Maybe in the western world the situation is different. Some even tell me that I am allowed to use MT (although they rarely have the means to understand if I do and when I don't) provided that I correct "all syntax and grammar errors". This seems enough to make them content.