Start a new topic

Ignore hidden text in Excel for the Excel import filter

In Cafetran Espresso 2018, the Excel import filter allows only to specify which column to translate, but not rows nor single cells, group of cells or even entire sheets. At times clients provide us with very complicated Excel translation files, where the translation text is spreaded irregularly over different columns and raws, which makes it really hard to translate it with CT without resorting to difficult and time-consuming workarounds.

I would like to suggest to make a new Excel filter that makes it possible to ignore (not import) the hidden text specified beforehand in the Excel files. This works very nicely in other CAT tools such as DV. 

Mario: ...a new Excel filter that makes it possible to ignore (not import) the hidden text

Coincidence? This comes more or less down to a very recent ProZ question. I am by no means an Excel expert (I hate the format), but I understood from people who are, that CafeTran's filter is superior to DV's.

H.