Start a new topic

Unsaved elements in the project history/list

When CafeTran stalls, it does not have saved neither its last project as an entry nor the last settings on t he dashboard.


Wouldn't it make sense to save a kind of "save settings & history step" before, when or after opening a new project (any project)?


This is rather annoying when working on Studio packages. How can I reopen a package properly, if not in the list? The fastest solution up to now is to reopen the package and pretranslate, but this is not an ideal solution (and it works only because I have my TM co-running, not only the Studio TM).


In this context:

CT seems to behave and save everything (in this case the settings on the dashboard) differently depending on whether I choose (i) "Quit CafeTran", (ii) "Close project" and then "Quit CafeTran" or (iii) the red dot (Mac) or cross (Win). Is this only an impression, and if not, how does the systematical approach for this work?


It saves the Dashboard settings at Exit/Quit.

Indeed, I had used Open folder. The reselction of the sdlxliff does not make sense if you want to export the whole thing as a package (and the TM is missing then).


But again now the segments do not have the checked state they would have if I reopened the project "normally" from the list.


What about the 2nd point (CT seems to behave and save everything (in this case the settings on the dashboard) differently depending on whether I choose (i) "Quit CafeTran", (ii) "Close project" and then "Quit CafeTran" or (iii) the red dot (Mac) or cross (Win). Is this only an impression, and if not, how does the systematical approach for this work?)?

> Open project... 


It works. Just reselect the .sdlppx package file or .sdlxiff single file.

> Avoid stalling by increasing Java memory for CafeTran

I think 8 GB is rather fair enough (and it does not necessarily stall with big projects) and more than other any competitor gets.

> Just reopen it via the New button or select the Open project... button in the Recent poject box of the Dashboard.


Open project...  does not work here. It opens then both files from the source (e.g. de-de) and the target folder (e.g. en-GB) (indeed misleading) and claims than that the file is not segmented (the one from en-GB, that usually is not touched). With New button you are getting the current state (this is not self-explanatory, you would usually expect that the files are overwritten or that a second isntance is being opened), but the segments do not have the checked state they would have if I reopened the project "normally" from the list.

> No more steps to create a project.

I was not precise enough. This meant an internal process in CT, without any user intervention.

> When CafeTran stalls


Avoid stalling by increasing Java memory for CafeTran:  https://cafetran.freshdesk.com/solution/articles/6000160241-slowing-down-or-exiting-unexpectedly


> How can I reopen a package properly, if not in the list?


Just reopen it via the New button or select the Open project... button in the Recent poject box of the Dashboard.


> Wouldn't it make sense to save a kind of "save settings & history step" before


No more steps to create a project. Simplicity is of paramount importance! Remember it is Cessna not 747.


Login to post a comment