Start a new topic

Context Menu

For years, I've been "complaining" that Igor high-jacked the context menu. Not too loud, because he replaced it by something arguably more useful. In fact not something more useful, but somethings: Different context menus for SL and TL. Playing with DeepL, I tried binding to external editor TextEdit, rejected the idea, until I realised I could get my macOS context menu back that way:

image


I suppose the same goes for other operating systems.


H.





Alain: I was just translating a file in Ms Word. The file was on my APFS drive. Ms Word froze, and I had to kill it. When I reopened the file, my last modifications were gone. Big deception.


As I said, "And it's not a TextEdit feature, it's a feature for all relevant Apple apps. Pages, Numbers, etc." Not MS Word. And it predates High Sierra.


H.

woorden: When you start typing, and there's a power failure, everything will still be there after booting again, to the last character you type.

Just to share some info about this...
I was just translating a file in Ms Word.
The file was on my APFS drive.
Ms Word froze, and I had to kill it.
When I reopened the file, my last modifications were gone.

Big deception.

Can't do it. Don't worry, I'm going for a beer.


H.

It should appear in the proper context while showing the versions in TextEdit.

IK: Type "delete" there (not revert to).


Wrong screenshot.


image


But it's driving me nuts. I said I checked Mail, and I did of course, and was able to find Delete Old Versions. Now I can't anymore...


H.

Type "delete" there (not revert to).

IK: Typ delete in the TextEdit's Help > Search and choose Revert to > Delele old version... 


Something wrong here. Between the ears, possibly. This works for other apps (I tried Mail), but not for TextEdit 1.12, it seems:


image


H.

Please check this link on the exact workflow with external editors.


And I don't know how to clear the versions either


Typ delete in the TextEdit's Help > Search and choose Revert to > Delele old version... 

But, but: I never saved any versions, I never even saved the CafeTranBond.txt. CT does it. And I can't understand how. And I don't know how to clear the versions either. It's curiosity more than anything else.


H.

It does not really matter how it is saved to the linking .txt file. The best way is via the Mac's save keyboard shortcut. One possible usage of the versioning feature is that you can go back to some previous segment edits. Otherwise, it is easy to clear all those previous versions in TextEdit.

IK: I can see that you are using a TextEdit versioning feature. Cool!


Not sure it's cool, it's more like it's inevitable. If you can disable it, I'll have to look hard where and how. And it's not a TextEdit feature, it's a feature for all relevant Apple apps. Pages, Numbers, etc.

The thing is in this case, you can't literally "save" documents anymore. When you start typing, and there's a power failure, everything will still be there after booting again, to the last character you type. The entry Save in the Menu is "Save as" rather than save for the first time, "Save a Version' thereafter. That's why I'd like to know how you coded it. The external editor only, of course.


How do you query DeepL exactly? From TextEdit or CafeTran?


CafeTran.


H.

I can see that you are using a TextEdit versioning feature. Cool! How do you query DeepL exactly? From TextEdit or CafeTran?

Igor, can you please tell me what happens when you go from one DeepL query to the next? Below: The "versions" in TextEdit, which is basically the same as Time Machine.


image

The latest version shows what happened when I used a Service the Apple Context Menu to capitalise "tweekamerappartement," but all DeepL segments are there as well.


H.

PS. TextEdit may not be a good idea, because it will save all "versions," in other words, all DeepL results will be saved, resulting (I think) in a huge file in a relatively short time (a good thing Igor saved it in Documents rather than the default iCloud). Changing the binding to a non-Apple app will solve this, but - again I think - only temporary. If I'm not wrong, High Sierra will save versions by default, like Time Machine. The latter will save only one version per hour/day/week/month, but HS?


H.

Login to post a comment