Start a new topic

REQ: Read only memory setting that works

I'd like the read only memory setting to:

a) work (i.e. CT does not write to read only memories and does write to memories which are not set as read only)

b) not be greyed out for no apparent reason.


It's very frustrating to be proofreading a project and realise that all segments have been saved to the wrong memory and then on top of that be unable to get the segments into the required memory.


See also this discussion.


I'd still like to be able to do this. It's ridiculous that this doesn't work.

Today, a memory I created and worked with fine just yesterday, and which has never been accessed by any program other than CT is stuck in read only mode in CT. I note that the header contains the following:

<prop type="x-read_only">true</prop>

Since its creation (yesterday), this file has never been accessed by any program other than CT.
Please sort this egregrious bug out.

 

Today, a memory I created and worked with fine just yesterday...


You must have set "Read only" option on for that memory. If you think that the program somehow set it without your explicit action, please give the steps to reproduce it. Otherwise, it is difficult for the developer to confirm the issue.


To change the Read only TM flag for a given TM, you need to either reset (remove and set again) the TM in the Dashboard > Translation Memories panel or reopen it (close and open again) via Memory > Open memory... menu making sure that Read only checkbox in the TM options panel is not ticked. Then, just save the memory with the changed settings.

 

Just to clarify, I did indeed set it to read only, but I hadn't realised that that was meant to be a one time irrevocable decision.
So if I understand you correctly, when you set a memory to read only, it's the intended behaviour that it's set permanently and irrevocably as read only.
I have to confess that it never crossed my mind that that might be the case.

Yesterday I happened to be translating a file that dealt with two rather different subjects. I opened two relevant memories, setting one memory to read only for the first half of the file and the other to read only (and - successfully - unsetting the read only flag on the first) for the second half.
When I reopened the project this afternoon to proofread it, the first memory (the one that was read only for the first half of the file) was set to read only (even though it had not been read only when I closed the project) and, on right clicking, the read only option was greyed out. I closed it and reopened it, but still no joy.
I solved it be editing the tmx file in a text editor (Scite) and changing the x-read_only value to false.

Sorry, but this behaviour is insane.


So if I understand you correctly, when you set a memory to read only, it's the intended behaviour that it's set permanently and irrevocably as read only.


The read-only flag (from on to off) can be reversed. Just reopen (close and open again) the TM or reset it (remove and set again) in the Dashboard if this TM is selected there. And while reopening or resetting please make sure that the Read only box is not checked in the TM options panel that appears.


The resetting/reopening the file is needed because the "read-only" option for a file is stored in the file itself. That's why it is grayed because you cannot save it while this flag is on.

The current implementation is OK, but if a different solution makes it possible to untick the Read-only option once already set in the TM context menu, that would indeed be great.


Jean

I confess that I think this is the wrong implementation. I see no reason why CT shouldn't let you change the status of the memory whenever you like (as indeed it sometimes does – you seem to be asserting the contrary, but it's not true, in practice you can sometimes do this and sometimes not, for no apparent reason).

I don't see why the fact the flag is stored in the file is relevant here - you can change it just as easily whilst the file is open as on opening it.

And it's frustrating to read
"The read-only flag (from on to off) can be reversed. Just reopen (close and open again) the TM or reset it,"
when the post to which you are replying explicitly states
"I closed it and reopened it, but still no joy." (In resetting the read only status.)

One has the impression that you don't read the posts you ostensibly reply to.
Login to post a comment