At present, if I'm halfway through typing and I a) decide I need to merge (or split?) the segment, or b) I do a search and then navigate to another segment in the grid (e.g. I spot a mistake which needs fixing), my changes are discarded. This is very frustrating. Could this be fixed please.
I don't quite understand the issue. CafeTran does not delete the current segment when the search is performed. Of course, if you change the view (e.g. turning on the Filter view or QA view) you need to confirm the current segment before leaving it. If you don't confirm it, the program will bring back the original state of the segment when you return to it. In other words, changing the view DOES NOT confirm the segment - you can confirm it by the Next or Move buttons.
CafeTran joins two segments as follows:
- when the target segments are empty, they are joined on the source side only - the target side in the editor is unaffected.
- when the target segments are non-empty, they are also joined together - the target side in the editor shows joined two segments. I understand you wish to join them while one of them is still being edited, that is, the unconfirmed (uncompleted) state should overwrite the confirmed state. I don't know if it is possible to accomplish given the fact that the tags need to be preserved at joining. If the target segments are non-empty, CafeTran can join the confirmed segments only so you should join them first and then edit - not the other way around.
Wojciech > I also believe that bringing back the original state of the current target segment (after turning on and then off the Filter view) should not consist in presenting an empty segment only because unfinished one was not confirmed prior to searching.