Start a new topic

Questions about the Clipboard workflow

I'm currently studying the Clipboard workflow and I have some questions. I've watched Igor's video (and I've created two myself) but still don't understand everything. Hope you can fill in the blanks:

• What's the function of the command Edit > Copy target segments to clipboard, in this workflow? Obviously, it cannot be used to paste the content of the Target segment pane back to the originating app.
  • Since I think that this workflow can be great to quickly translate one new paragraph in a Word document, while working on a big ongoing project: is it possible to start this Clipboard workflow independently from the Translate Document workflow?
  • Why is it that bold, italics and underlined aren't supported?
  • Are there any features that facilitate the app switching?

Other questions will follow

Like this additional question:

• What can be the use of a floating auto-assembling bar in this workflow?

What I'd also like to know:

• How does CafeTran's Clipboard workflow compare with SDL's T-Clipboard?

CT: Why is it that bold, italics and underlined aren't supported?

Because the whole idea of the clipboard workflow is to be able to work without formatting. As far as I'm concerned, it's only useful if your source document is tag-ridden.

...is it possible to start this Clipboard workflow independently from the Translate Document workflow?

No, but you can quit the current project, create a new one for the clipboard workflow, and later open the previous project to continue it. CafeTran 101.

H.

> Because the whole idea of the clipboard workflow is to be able to work without formatting.

Yes, that's the main idea behind it to be able to apply the formatting in your favorite editor or word processor on the translated fragment. Note that here you can work with larger chunks of text than sentences. Then, CafeTran applies its own segmentation rules.

1 person likes this