Start a new topic

Empty return package

Hi all,

I have an urgent problem with delivering a return package.

I translated a .sdlppx file and converted it to a return package (.sdlrpx). However, the client said "The file you sent for delta is not translated...." So the client, who apparently uses Trados, is not able to see the translated content.

I could not find a solution in other topics.

Thank you for your help!

As far as I know, converting to SDLRPX doesn't work in CafeTran. You'll have to inject the SDLXLIFF file into the SDLPPX yourself, and change the extension. In most cases, that isn't a problem. However, the SDLRPX thus created lacks a (GUID) code that enables PMs to quickly create the project in case of various translators and multiple languages.

H.

Ok, thank you for the advice! I am new to CAT tools and Cafetran so could you explain what you meaned - how do I inject the SDLXLIFF file into the SDLPPX?

Well, I'd just open the SDLPPX by changing the extension to ZIP, and send the client the SDLXLIFF file. Usually, that'll do.

H.

So, just send the SDLXLIFF instead of the SDLRPX? OK, I'll try that :)

Well, the client said that the SDLXLIFF file also seems empty when opening it with Trados... I replied with a quote from another topic in the CafeTran forum: "When you open the translated project in SDL Trados, the system may still show 0% progress, but after just opening and saving the file(s), it becomes 100%." Is this the case, or could the problem be solved in any other way?

You should create a ticket. The procedure for creating sdlrpx packages is 100 % bullet proof. Either you or your client made a mistake. Igor can investigate it.

Normally I'm not shy to offer my assistance but the fancy problem with Studio is that one can only define 5 languages to process. And Finnish is not one of them for me.