Start a new topic

TMX edition

Hello all, 

I am editing a tmx file after having created a new project under Edition of TMX memory but I am having my doubts about the workflow:

On one hand, there appears the memory I want to edit on the segment pane, which is great, I can edit it as a normal project. Now, my question is, I have selected keep newer duplicates in case I would like to insert an alternative translation, but in the case where I bump into three exact segments that I stored in the past and where I just want to keep one, if I delete one segment of the three, it turns out they are all gone, the three of them!...


Can you please assist in which is the correct steps for editing the memory file without having my precious segments deleted:'-( 


thank you in advance, as always. 

Elena 


One more thing: If you make changes in the pop-up editor, those changes are implemented immediately, but not immediately visible in the tabbed pane. I think there's a good chance you didn't lose a single entry. Igor?


H.

EC: I am afraid I still do not understand on how to proceed...


Neither do I. I can only mention that I use the pop-up editor you use only sporadically, to make small changes (forgotten letters mostly) and to delete entries that are very wrong. In that case, if I delete one, and CT deletes them all, so much the better.


For "real" maintenance, I import a TMX file as a project in CT, and use its built-in Tasks. No problems there.

And I use a number of TMX memories to achieve my goal. The memory that's set to "Keep all duplicates" is the Big Mama/Papa with a low priority, whereas memories with "Keep newer duplicates" typically is project related and has a higher priority assigned to it.


H

Case 2)  Project  selecting "Edit TMX file">  :


I cannot confirm CT deletes any other identical segments here but the one actually deleted.


Igor

I am afraid I still do not understand on how to proceed...

Hi Elena,


When you click Delete, the source segment of the translation unit is removed from matching but CafeTran actually deletes only the translation unit you clicked at.


Igor

Hello, Hans and Igor,


I use neither of the three options you mention, Hans: I proceed manually, it gives me a greater sense of control of how I edit my TMs (or at least I thought so...now, you can tell me if this is not the best procedure, of course!;-)


Case 1) If I am working on a translation project and I see, following the already mentioned example, that I have two or three segments with same content in my TM ( TM tab pane), I double click on the number of the segment and then select "delete" once the dialog box is opened.  



Case 2)  Project  selecting "Edit TMX file">  :

a) If given the same case as above (3 segments, same content) I proceeded to delete one of the segments from the  by clicking the icon provided for that 


b) I proceed to (same as in case 1) > double click in the memory segment number in the TM tabbed pane and once the pop-up dialogue with OK/Delete/Cancel opens, I click on delete. 




The problem is that in all cases I am seeing that all segments with same content are being deleted, not just the specific one I want to delete because they are duplicates. SO instead of getting 1 remaining of the two I delete, i.e., I end up with none. 


Question: If I see same content in segments with different numbers, but the number next to the segment is 1 (please refer to image below), does it mean the three segments are in reality considered as one in the TM???? 

  Thank again for your patience. 


IK: how you delete the segment


Pretty darned good question.


H.

Hi Elena,


Can you describe exactly how you delete the segment? Is it after you loaded the TM in the edit mode?


Igor

How do you delete them?



H.


ups, sorry my bad< i wrote it wrong> I did select Keep ALL duplicates, so this is why I raised the question: If this options selected, how come if I have two different segments with same content and I proceed to delete it not to have duplicates, both of them are gone. 

Again,  my mistake when writing the new thread> I meant ALL duplicates 


Thanks!

I, for one, don't understand what you are doing, which makes it pretty hard to try to help you.


Elena: I have selected keep newer duplicates in case I would like to insert an alternative translation


If I understand this correctly, you'll achieve the exact opposite of what you want. If you "keep newer duplicates" you won't get "alternatives" because they will be deleted, you only keep the latest addition. So if you want alternatives, select "keep all duplicates."


Please explain.


H.

Hello, 

Just reaching out again to see if anybody could assist?


Now while I work with memories in a translation project this is also happening: if I have two segments that are repeated and proceed to delete one, both of them disappear. 


Thank you for your help. 

E.

Login to post a comment