I recently stumbled upon the fact that I can "create" projects with names and paths that already exist. This is not really a problem, but I would like to get an hint that I am using a project name (and consequently a path) that already exists (here under Mac, no idea what happens under Linux or any other inferior system).
As far as I can see the elder project does not get erased, the new files are simply copied into the same folder. The Project TM (if any) gets extended, not overwritten, that's nice. But I wonder what will happen when you have (by accident, maybe for a repeating job) the same file name.
There might be any other situations where this behavior might create problems. The easiest thing of course is to keep using numbered project names (a thing that I do frequently, but not always).